What does the Auto-apply setting do?

In System Preferences on the desktop app, you will find a setting called "Auto apply payments to oldest open invoice on mobile".

Auto-apply is by default enabled.

This is what auto-apply does:
  • When you add a payment to a new invoice on a mobile device, the payment will automatically be applied to that invoice.
  • When you record a payment from a mobile device while offline, it will automatically be applied to the customer's open invoices, oldest first.
If auto-apply is disabled:
  • A payment that is added to a new invoice from a mobile device will not be applied to that invoices. (It will still apply towards the customer's account balance, but the invoice will not be marked as paid.)
  • If you create a payment while offline, it will not be applied to any invoices.

Did you find this article helpful?